Nursing Science and Health-Care Leadership-Family Nurse Practitioner

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

*This program is no longer accepting applicants for 2022 and beyond.* Students gain advanced knowledge of model health-care systems; effective, efficient and responsive health-care policy; organizational change practices; informatics; implementation science; effective leadership; community health; public health; nutrition; biostatistics; epidemiology; gerontology; rural health; and health disparities. Graduates receive a broad education that includes advanced skills in understanding complex problems and generating solutions, how health systems and health care works, how to improve quality, how to lead teams and business aspects of care including informatics and reimbursement. The program prepares graduates to deliver care as nurse practitioners, with an emphasis on providing primary care to underserved populations throughout California as members of health-care teams.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan II (Family Nurse Practitioner Track)
Lead Dean

School of Nursing

Major Code
GNNP

Admissions and Fellowship Information


Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Madeline Verzola
(916) 734-7720 | mverzola@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Amy Nichols
(916) 734-2145 | aanichols@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Kathryn Sexson
School of Nursing
(916) 734-2145 | kesexson@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Charleen Singh
School of Nursing
(916) 734-2145 | cdsingh@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Laura Van Auker
School of Nursing
(916) 734-2145 | lvanauker@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu