Biochemistry, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of biochemistry; molecular biology; cell and developmental biology; as well as interdisciplinary approaches that combine biology, genetics, chemistry, physics, engineering, math and/or computational approaches. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in fundamental biological problems at the organismal, cellular and molecular levels.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Biological Sciences

Major Code
GBCB
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2021
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Alyssa Parsons
acparsons@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Ben Montpetit
(530) 752-5955 | benmontpetit@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Primary Contact
Enoch Baldwin
Molecular & Cellular Bio
(530) 752-1108 | epbaldwin@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Kermit Carraway
Med:Biochem & Molecular Med
(916) 734-3114 | klcarraway@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Elva Diaz
Med:Pharmacology
(530) 754-6080 | ediaz@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Bruce Draper
Molecular & Cellular Bio
(530) 752-0833 | bwdraper@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Joanne Engebrecht
Molecular & Cellular Bio
(530) 754-6034 | jengebrecht@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Christopher Fraser
Molecular & Cellular Bio
(530) 752-1716 | csfraser@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Damian Genetos
Vm: Anat Physio & Cell Biology
(530) 754-0146 | dgenetos@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Paramita Ghosh
Med:Urologic Surgery
916-843-9336 | paghosh@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Qizhi Gong
Med:Cell Biology & Human Anat
(530) 754-7656 | qzgong@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Mark Huising
Med:Physiology & Membrane Biol
mhuising@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Paul Knoepfler
Med:Cell Biology & Human Anat
(916) 453-2289 | knoepfler@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jon Sack
Med:Physiology & Membrane Biol
(530) 752-4131 | jsack@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Mitchell Singer
Microbiology & Molec Genetics
(530) 752-9005 | mhsinger@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Daniel Starr
Molecular & Cellular Bio
(530) 754-6083 | dastarr@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu