Civil and Environmental Engineering

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of designing, building, operating and maintaining the physical infrastructure and protecting the natural environment that together support human society in an economically and environmentally sustainable manner. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in engineering (environmental, structural, geotechnical, water resource, transportation, planning and design, and water resources) and environmental planning management.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Engineering

Major Code
GECE

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
Priority: Dec 15, 2022
General: Feb 1, 2023
Space Available: Jun 1, 2023
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 15, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Lauren Worrell
(530) 752-1441 | lkworrell@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Department Chair
Christopher Cappa
(530) 752-8180 | cdcappa@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair
Miguel Jaller Martelo
mjaller@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Michele Barbato
Civil & Environmental Engr
(530) 754-6427 | mbarbato@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Fabian Bombardelli
Civil & Environmental Engr
(530) 752-0949 | fabombardelli@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Christopher Cappa
Civil & Environmental Engr
(530) 752-8180 | cdcappa@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jason Dejong
Civil & Environmental Engr
(530) 754-8995 | jdejong@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Miguel Jaller Martelo
Civil & Environmental Engr
530-752-7062 | mjaller@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Frank Loge
Civil & Environmental Engr
(530) 754-2297 | fjloge@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Alejandro Martinez Vela
Civil & Environmental Engr
amart@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Holly Oldroyd
Civil & Environmental Engr
hjoldroyd@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jasquelin Pena
Civil & Environmental Engr
pena@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Mark Rashid
Civil & Environmental Engr
(530) 752-7013 | mmrashid@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Michael Zhang
Civil & Environmental Engr
(530) 754-9203 | hmzhang@ucdavis.edu