Integrative Genetics and Genomics

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students in Integrative Genetics and Genomics experience an unsurpassed breadth of research and instructional opportunities from the most fundamental to applied aspects of genetics. They gain advanced knowledge of the application of genomic, molecular, and classical genetic approaches to study model organisms, a broad range of native and agricultural species, humans, and companion animals. Our graduates leave our program with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in genetics.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Biological Sciences

Major Code
GIGG
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2022
Space Available: Dec 15, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Najwa Marrush
(530) 752-4863 | nmmarrush@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Hana Anderson
Med:Int Med Cardiology (Davis)
(530) 752-0389 | hnanderson@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Anne Britt
Plant Biology
(530) 752-0699 | abbritt@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Sean Burgess
Molecular & Cellular Bio
(530) 754-5177 | smburgess@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Kermit Carraway
Med:Biochem & Molecular Med
(916) 734-3114 | klcarraway@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Frederic Chedin
Molecular & Cellular Bio
(530) 752-1800 | flchedin@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Hao Cheng
Animal Science
qtlcheng@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Joanna Chiu
Entomology/Nematology
(530) 752-1839 | jcchiu@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Carrie Finno
Vm: Population Hlth & Reprod
(530) 752-2739 | cjfinno@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Paramita Ghosh
Med:Urologic Surgery
(916)843-9336 | paghosh@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Dennis Hartigan-O'Connor
Med:Medical Microbiology & Imm
(530) 752-7358 | dhartigan@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Russ Hovey
Animal Science
(530) 752-1682 | rchovey@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Michele La Merrill
Environmental Toxicology
mlamerrill@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
John Mcpherson
Med:Biochem & Molecular Med
jdmcpherson@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Venkatesan Sundaresan
Plant Biology
(530) 754-9677 | sundar@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Flora Tassone
Med:Biochem & Molecular Med
ftassone@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Konstantinos Zarbalis
Med:Pathology & Lab Medicine
kzarbalis@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu