Plant Pathology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of plant pathology, including physiology, biochemistry, and molecular biology of plant pathogens or host-pathogen interactions; the biology and ecology of plant pathogens; epidemiology and modeling of plant diseases; and the diagnosis and control of plant diseases, including chemical, biological and integrated methods of control. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in plant diseases caused by viruses, bacteria, fungi, and nematodes

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Agriculture and Environmental Studies


Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Jan 5, 2023
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 5, 2023
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Theresa Garcia
(530) 754-9506 | tgarcia@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Program Chair
Gitta Coaker
(530) 752-6541 | glcoaker@ucdavis.edu

Department Chair
David Rizzo
(530) 754-9255 | dmrizzo@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Gitta Coaker
Plant Pathology
(530) 752-6541 | glcoaker@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Douglas Cook
Plant Pathology
(530) 754-6561 | drcook@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Neil Mcroberts
Plant Pathology
(530) 752-3248 | nmcroberts@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Ioannis Stergiopoulos
Plant Pathology
(530) 400-9802 | istergiopoulos@ucdavis.edu

Mentor Eligible
Akif Eskalen
Anr Plant Pathology
aeskalen@ucdavis.edu