Comparative Literature

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of several literatures in their original languages in a theoretically and historically informed context, and from an interdisciplinary and multicultural perspective. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in comparative literature, and related disciplines world literature, critical theory and the humanities.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.A. Plan I
M.A. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science


Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Jan 15, 2023
Space Available: Mar 1, 2023
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Nancy Masson
530-752-2115 | nkmasson@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Department and Program Chair
Cheri Ross
cross@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Joshua Clover
English
(530) 754-2648 | jclover@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Michael Subialka
Comparative Literature
msubialka@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu