Nursing Science and Health-Care Leadership (Ph.D.)

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of model health-care systems; effective, efficient and responsive health-care policy; organizational change practices; informatics; implementation science; effective leadership; community health; public health; nutrition; biostatistics; epidemiology; gerontology; rural health; and health disparities. Students graduate with qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in health-care and health policy. The doctoral program prepares graduates as health-care and health policy leaders and nurse faculty/researchers at the university level. Graduates of the professional master's degree program will be well prepared for health-care leadership roles in a variety of organizations and as nurse faculty at the community college and prelicensure education levels.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

School of Nursing

Major Code
GNSL

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Jan 15, 2023
Space Available: Jun 1, 2023
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Madeline Verzola
(916) 734-2145 | HS-BettyIreneMooreSON@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Amy Nichols
(916) 734-1493 | aanichols@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Janice Bell
School of Nursing
(916) 734-2145 | jfbell@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Theresa Harvath
School of Nursing
(916) 734-2145 | tharvath@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Elena Siegel
School of Nursing
(916) 734-2145 | eosiegel@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu