Biophysics

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of the physical laws governing the properties and interaction of biomolecules and cells; structural biology; membrane dynamics; ion transport; electron transfer; nuclei acid; applied optics; computational biology; cellular regulation; and imaging. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in biophysics.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I under special circumstances only
M.S. Plan II under special circumstances only
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Biological Sciences

Major Code
GBPH
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Jan 15, 2022
Space Available: Mar 15, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Najwa Marrush
(530) 752-4863 | nmmarrush@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Eleonora Grandi
(530) 752-4780 | egrandi@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Robert Fairclough
Med:Neurology
(530) 754-5005 | rhfairclough@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Tonya Kuhl
Chemical Engineering
(530) 867-3180 | tlkuhl@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jon Sack
Med:Physiology & Membrane Biol
(530) 752-4131 | jsack@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Steven Theg
Plant Biology
(530) 752-0624 | smtheg@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Igor Vorobyov
Med:Physiology & Membrane Biol
(530) 752-3932 | ivorobyov@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
John Voss
Med:Biochem & Molecular Med
(530) 754-7583 | jcvoss@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
David Wilson
Molecular & Cellular Bio
(530) 752-1136 | dkwilson@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Vladimir Yarov-Yarovoy
Med:Physiology & Membrane Biol
(530) 752-5298 | yarovoy@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu