Native American Studies

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced comparative, interdisciplinary and hemispheric knowledge of Native American Studies--history; religion; philosophy; government; politics; society; art; music; women and gender studies; literature; environmental studies; and language and linguistics, as well as indigenous community development for autonomy and sovereignty; colonialism, racism and self-determination; and ethnohistory. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in Native American Studies or related disciplines; or for careers in tribal administration and education in museums and cultural centers, community development, and public policy.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.A. Plan I
M.A. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science


Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2021
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Victoria Torres
(530) 752-3237 | vgtorres@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Department and Program Chair
Zoila Mendoza
530-754-6128 | zsmendoza@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Admissions Only
Zoila Mendoza
Native American Studies
zsmendoza@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Hulleah Tsinhnahjinnie
Native American Studies
(530) 752-0568 | tsinhnahjinnie@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jessica Perea
Native American Studies
jbperea@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu