Neuroscience

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of molecular biophysics of channels and receptors through motor control; neuroethology; retinal organization; development of visual systems; cortical organization; and cognitive functions. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching regarding nerve cells and the ways they are organized to form nervous systems that mediate behavior.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Biological Sciences

Major Code
GNES

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Linette Scibelli
(530) 757-8520 | lascibelli@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Elva Diaz
(530) 754-6080 | ediaz@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Laura Borodinsky
Med:Physiology & Membrane Biol
(916) 453-2285 | lnborodinsky@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Rishidev Chaudhuri
Neuro Physio & Behavior
rchaudhuri@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jochen Ditterich
Neuro Physio & Behavior
(530) 754-5084 | jditterich@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Diasynou Fioravante
Neuro Physio & Behavior
530-752-1887 | dfioravante@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Timothy Hanks
Med:Neurology
thanks@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Alexander Nord
Med:Psychiatry & Behav Sci
asnord@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Jennifer Whistler
Med:Physiology & Membrane Biol
530-752-8153 | jlwhistler@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu