Graduate Studies Awards $10,000 Fellowships to Faculty Mentors

Mentoring at Critical Transitions

Quick Summary

  • Graduate Studies Awards $10,000 Fellowships to UC Davis Faculty Mentors

Five UC Davis professors from a broad range of disciplines - including Chemistry, Anthropology, and Linguistics - have been selected to receive 2016-2017 Mentoring at Critical Transitions (MCT) Fellowships.

Funded by generous support from the Wakeham fund, the $10,000 award will provide support for one or more of the recipients’ graduate student mentees. The 2016-2017 Mentoring at Critical Transitions Fellowship recipients include:

Professor Sheila David
Department of Chemistry
Students: Doug Banda, Chandrima Majumdar, Kori Lay (Chemistry)

Professor Annaliese Franz
Department of Chemistry
Students: Kayla Rude (Agricultural and Environmental Chemistry) and Kelsey Mesa (Chemistry)

Assistant Professor Margaret Crofoot
Department of Anthropology
Students: Katrina Brock (Animal Behavior), Dena Clink, Grace Davis, and Alexander Vining (Anthropology)

Associate Professor Tessa Hill
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences and Bodega Marine Laboratory
Students: Melissa Ward (Ecology)

Julia Menard-Warwick
Department of Linguistics
Students: Kaozong Mouavangsou (Education), Lina Reznicek-Parrado (Spanish), Caitlin Tierney (Linguistics)

Mentoring at Critical Transitions is a UC Davis faculty development program aimed at enhancing the preparedness of UC Davis faculty in areas affecting the mentoring, academic socialization, and overall success of the diverse graduate student population.

For more information about the Mentoring at Critical Transitions, including a list of upcoming events for UC Davis faculty and staff, visit the MCT website or email Kellie Butler, Assistant Dean, at

Secondary Categories

General News